Monthly Archives: November 2014

  • competition-238261_1280
    2014 VSTE Award Winners 2014 VSTE Award Winners

    2014 VSTE Award Winners

2014 VSTE Award Winners

Each year, VSTE recognizes exemplary educators through several different awards. We are proud to announce this year’s recipients who will be recognized at the Annual Educational Technology Conference.

The 2014 VSTE Teacher of the Year is Daniel Nemerow, a math and special education teacher at Patriot High School (Prince William County Schools).) In his 11 years of teaching, Daniel has proven to be an exemplary model for the seamless implementation of emerging technologies in the classroom. His singular focus is always on creating the best possible 21st century learning environment for his students. He regularly inspires his fellow educators to reach beyond their comfort level to implement technology in their classrooms. Congratulations, Daniel!

The 2014 VSTE Leader of the Year is Janet Copenhaver, Director of Technology at Henry County Public Schools. Janet has worked tirelessly to both network and upgrade networking in all facilities of our school division. Her leadership in implementing a 1:1 mobile device initiative for students in grade 3-8 has earned Henry County the privilege of hosting a plethora of visits from districts around the country seeking to emulate the successful integration of technology into daily learning that exists in Henry County Public Schools. A large part of each day is occupied by classroom visits as she works with students and staff to maximize the way they use technology for learning and student achievement. Congratulations, Janet!

The 2014 VSTE Innovative Educator of the Year is Dr. Teresa Coffman, Professor of Education, University of Mary Washington. Dr. Coffman is working to pilot Google Glass in the College of Education at the University of Mary Washingon. The use of wearable technologies is relatively new and she is at the vanguard of its immersion into education and […]

By |November 24th, 2014|News|Comments Off
  • 11275572285_5e7c24d496_b
    Student Technology Integration Challenge Winners Student Technology Integration Challenge Winners

    Student Technology Integration Challenge Winners

Student Technology Integration Challenge Winners

We are pleased to announce this year’s winners. The students and their teachers will be recognized on Sunday, December 7, at the conference. You’ll have a chance to talk with them from 1:30 to 4:15 and then they will be honored during the closing session on Sunday.

K-2 Interactive/Programming:
Alivia Teri, School:  Hugh Mercer, Fredricksburg City Schools, (Teacher: Amanda Flanagan)
Project Title:  Coding

3-5 Desktop Publishing: 
Melissa Ortiz* and Anthony Rios-Reyes, School:  Carlin Springs Elementary/Arlington (Teacher:  Lindsay Brown)
Project Title:  Our Virginia History – A Review

3-5 Multi-media:
Elizabeth Zambrano*,Dalliss Braxton, Sydney Boone, Kyhia McCray, Alexia Taylor, School:  Harvie Elementary /Henrico (Teacher: Julie Franklin)
Project Title:  A “Heroic” App for That!

3-5 Interactive/Programming: 
Suruthikha Vijay, School:  Mantua Elementary/ Fairfax (Teacher:  Michele Sullivan)
Project Title:  Effects of Smoking

6-8 Multi-media:
Grace Allen, School:  Philip Michael Pennington School/ Prince William (Teacher:  Cheryl Phillips)
Project Title:  What’s Your Story
9-12 Desktop Publishing: 
Kirsten Parris’s class, Park View High School/Mecklenburg
Project Title:  Heroes Among Us

9-12 Multi-media:
Margaret Smith*, Carly Chisholm, Libby Browder, Sama Crouch, Ashley Dowd, Douglas S. Freeman High School/ Henrico, (Teacher: Megan Corker)
Project Title: Creating Change through Public Service Announcements – “Stand Up. Speak Out.”

9-12 Interactive/Programming: 
Matthew Brosinski*, Mariah Boone, Ethan Frazier, Noah Flint, School:  Franklin County High School/ Franklin County, (Teacher: William Schmachtenberg)
Project Name:  Geology Valley
Thanks to Tech4Learning for supporting the Student Technology Integration Challenge.

By |November 24th, 2014|News|Comments Off