Each year, VSTE recognizes exemplary educators through several different awards. We are proud to announce this year’s recipients who will be recognized at the Annual Educational Technology Conference.

The 2014 VSTE Teacher of the Year is Daniel Nemerow, a math and special education teacher at Patriot High School (Prince William County Schools).) In his 11 years of teaching, Daniel has proven to be an exemplary model for the seamless implementation of emerging technologies in the classroom. His singular focus is always on creating the best possible 21st century learning environment for his students. He regularly inspires his fellow educators to reach beyond their comfort level to implement technology in their classrooms. Congratulations, Daniel!

The 2014 VSTE Leader of the Year is Janet Copenhaver, Director of Technology at Henry County Public Schools. Janet has worked tirelessly to both network and upgrade networking in all facilities of our school division. Her leadership in implementing a 1:1 mobile device initiative for students in grade 3-8 has earned Henry County the privilege of hosting a plethora of visits from districts around the country seeking to emulate the successful integration of technology into daily learning that exists in Henry County Public Schools. A large part of each day is occupied by classroom visits as she works with students and staff to maximize the way they use technology for learning and student achievement. Congratulations, Janet!

The 2014 VSTE Innovative Educator of the Year is Dr. Teresa Coffman, Professor of Education, University of Mary Washington. Dr. Coffman is working to pilot Google Glass in the College of Education at the University of Mary Washingon. The use of wearable technologies is relatively new and she is at the vanguard of its immersion into education and society at large. Dr. Coffman is also responsible for piloting “Teacher Spot” an online Community of Practice for teachers in their degree program at the University. It also serves as a Learning Community for practicing teachers following graduation. She is viewed as an expert on instructional technology and the use of inquiry learning, both within the University and the larger global educational community. Congratulations, Teresa!

Thanks to McGraw Hill for their support of the 2014 VSTE awards program.